ASA Learn to Swim Stage 4-7 Lessons

Structured ASA Learn to Swim lessons provided by our qualified ASA instructor.

ASA National Plan for Teaching Swimming (NPTS)The NPTS is the ‘National Syllabus’ produced by the National Governing Body for
Swimming, the Amateur Swimming Association (ASA), to assist and support the
delivery of swimming lessons. It is a single pathway for swimmers to learn how to
be competent and confident in the water.

  • Stage 4 – Developing the understanding of buoyancy through a range of skills, refining kicking technique for all strokes, and swimming of 10m to a given standard.
  • Stage 5 – Developing water skills including sculling, somersaults, treading water and handstands. Competent in all 4 strokes which are sustained over a distance of 10m to a given standard.
  • Stage 6 – Developing effective swimming skills including coordinated breathing across all strokes plus swimming 25m using a stoke of the swimmer’s choice; developing water safety and understanding of preparation for exercise.
  • Stage 7 – Developing quality stroke technique up to 100m, incorporating skills learnt and combining them to develop a linked routine and successfully complete an obstacle course combining a variety of skills learned at stages 1-7.

What to bring

  • Wear appropriate swimwear and bring a few towels.
  • Swim shorts must not be longer than knee length.
  • Swim goggles are optional but a swim hat is required.
  • Bring a 10p for the locker (non-refundable as a charity donation)

Swim Info

Main Pool
Leaner Pool
Age Limits No age restrictions

Become a member

Become an Oaklands member and save money.

Swimwear available to purchase at the pool

Learn to Swim sessions take place at the following times

Please ensure you have booked your place before turning up.

No events available!

Book your place now!

Call now